Types of DUI Offenses
Whether you’re facing your first Driving Under the Influence (DUI) offense or a charge of DUI manslaughter, you need to speak with a skilled DUI attorney after your arrest. Each case is different, and you should discuss the unique circumstances of your particular case with your lawyer. Below, you’ll find some of the more common types of DUI offenses in Mississippi.1st DUI Offense
The 1st DUI offense in Mississippi usually holds the least amount of penalties involved. If there aren’t any other extenuating circumstances or additional charges, you’re likely just facing a misdemeanor DUI. You could face up to 48 hours in jail, and between $250 and $1,000 in fines. Perhaps the worst part about a 1st DUI offense is having a DUI on your record.2nd DUI Offense (Within 5 Years of Previous)
With each DUI offense, the penalties get more severe. You could spend up to one year in jail for a 2nd DUI offense, and fines could be as much as $1,500. You could also lose your license for up to two years. While this is still considered a misdemeanor, additional charges could complicate your case.3rd DUI Offense (Within 5 Years of Previous)
A 3rd DUI offense could mean a felony charge. You’re going to face more than a year in jail and up to five years in prison. You could lose your driver’s license for an extended period of time.4th DUI Offense (within 5 Years of Previous)
A 4th DUI charge is even more serious than a 3rd, and you can count on felony charges, lengthy prison sentences and a potential permanent loss of your driver’s license. If you’re facing a 4th DUI offense, you need to speak with an experienced and proven DUI attorney as soon as possible.DUI Manslaughter
If somebody was killed in a car accident that occurred when you were allegedly driving under the influence, you could be facing a DUI manslaughter charge. These are some of the most serious cases involving DUI charges and you could be facing an extensive amount of time in prison, if convicted.DUI while Operating Public Transportation
The State of Mississippi takes DUI while operating public transportation very seriously, because it can potentially endanger a large number of people. This offense can leave you with seriously hefty fines and time behind bars.DUI while Operating Work Vehicles
Driving under the influence in work vehicles not only involves you as a driver, but might also involve your employer or the type of vehicle you were driving at the time of the offense. If you’re facing a DUI charge that occurred while you were operating a work vehicle, you need to speak with a car accident attorney as soon as possible about your case.DUI Child Endangerment
Another very serious charge is a DUI with child endangerment. This charge typically occurs when a DUI occurs with a child passenger in the vehicle. A charge of DUI involving child endangerment can happen during your first offense or your third, and does add to potential penalties involved, if convicted. If a child, or any person for that matter, was injured in a crash that happened while you were allegedly drunk driving, you could be facing some hefty fines and jail time.Driving on Suspended, Revoked or Denied Driver’s License
We know that one of the biggest problems with getting a DUI charge is having your licensed temporarily or permanently suspended. Unfortunately, if you’re found to be driving on a suspended, revoked or denied driver’s license, you’re only going to land in more hot water. There are avenues for getting hardship and temporary work licenses to get you to and from the places you need to be, so ask your lawyer about your legal driving options after a DUI charge.Underage Transportation/Possession of Alcohol
If you were involved with underage transportation or possession of alcohol, you could also be facing additional charges associated with your DUI. Whenever minors are involved, there could be additional and more severe fines and penalties associated with the charges.After a DUI arrest in Jackson
No two DUI cases are exactly the same. If this is your first DUI charge or your fourth, it’s a good idea to speak with a proven and experienced DUI lawyer as soon as you’re charged. Being proactive is the key to the best possible outcome. A DUI charge isn’t something that just goes away either. If convicted, it’s not just about losing your license or jail time and fines, it’s also about the label and stigma associated with having a DUI conviction on your record.Expungement/Expunction
Mississippi now allows for an expunction or expungement of a DUI charge. This means that under some circumstances the person charged might be able to get on probation and follow a large list of conditions. When the conditions are completed the DUI is dismissed with the accused person ever having a conviction. This can be very helpful for first offender.Interlock Driving Equipment
If the judge grants you an expungement he is going to require the use of an Interlock device. This mechanical device goes onto your car and prevents your car from starting if you have alcohol on your breath. The person accused has to pay for the machine but it is still better than losing your driver’s license.
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI charge in Jackson or the surrounding communities, contact the skilled team at Coxwell & Associates, PLLC at (877) 231-1600 for an immediate case consultation. The Coxwell team has won many high profile DUI cases including a case for a Mississippi Supreme Court judge who was accused of DUI.