Possession Of A Weapon
Possession of a Weapon
Although Americans have the right to own firearms, there are restriction and many laws governing when and how they can be purchased, carried and used. If you’re facing charges related to the possession of a weapon, chances are, you’re facing other charges as well. This is a charge commonly used in drug or other cases where a gun or firearm is found on the scene. It’s a way for prosecutors to add more charges and more potential time to your sentence if convicted. Weapons charges, even on their own, can be misdemeanor or felony charges, so you could face jail time or even a lengthier sentence in a correctional facility.
Concealed Deadly Weapons
Carrying concealed, without a permit, can get out slapped with a weapons charge. It is possible in certain situations to be totally in the clear to carry a deadly weapon concealed on your person. Unless you’re licensed to do so, you could face charges, especially if you’re stopped for something else or arrested for another crime and a weapon is found on your body. You don’t actually have to use, brandish or discharge a weapon to get slapped with a possession of a weapon charge in Mississippi. After any type of charge related to the illegal carrying of a concealed weapon, you need to contact your lawyer immediately.
“You were made to do what you do. Know that You make a difference in lives for the better.” - Will A.
“We are so appreciative for everything you've done for us. We don't know how we would've gotten through this without your help and generosity!” - N.B.
“My family and I will always be indebted to you and your staff.” - B.W.
Brandishing a Weapon
If you brandish or wave a gun or other type of firearm or deadly weapon in an attempt to threaten or intimidate, you will be facing charges related to assault and the possession of a weapon. These could be felony charges that land you in a federal correctional facility for up to five years or longer. It won’t matter if you didn’t fire the weapon or if the weapon wasn’t loaded, you can still get charged with assault with a deadly weapon and possession of a weapon if you use it to threaten, intimidate or scare another person.
During the Commission of a Felony
If you’ve been arrested for a felony, and you were found with a firearm, you’re going to be looking at possession of a weapon charges. This charge will exacerbate the severity of your case and increase the potential penalties you’re facing if you get convicted. Possession of the firearm, whether it was used, brandished, fired or just found in your vehicle or on your property can have severe implications in your case. If you’ve been arrested and you’re facing felony charges and weapon possession charges, you need to speak with a criminal defense attorney about your case immediately.
TAKE A LOOK AT OUR WINS
$144 Million Death and punitive damages
$120 Million Injuries from dangerous drugs
$20.4 Million Fraud settlement that went to Mississippians
$2.3 Million Brain injury settlement
$2.1 Million Civil rights death
$1.6 Million Fraud settlement for Mississippians
Penalties of Possession of a Weapon
Depending upon the circumstances of your individual case, you could be facing misdemeanor or felony charges. Since possession of a weapon is often a charge tacked on to other charges, it’s not uncommon to see multiple charges with potential penalties stacked up. If you’re convicted of a misdemeanor, you will be facing up to one year in a jail and could also face fines. If convicted of a felony, you could spend more than one year in a correctional facility, have hefty fines, and suffer the impact of a felony record when you get out.
The Right to Remain Silent
If you’ve been arrested or if you’re being questioned or interrogated about the possession of a weapon, remember to exercise your right to remain silent. Politely decline to answer any questions until you speak with your attorney. You have the right against self-incrimination, and don’t think that it will make you look guilty for asking to speak with your lawyer first. You have the right to an attorney, and it’s essential that you exercise that right and your right to remain silent.
Jackson Possession of a Weapon Attorney
After any kind of weapons arrest, it’s essential to get in touch with a criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to get the ball rolling on your defense. As soon as you’ve been arrested or charged, ask politely to speak with your lawyer, and don’t answer any questions until he or she is present. The impact of a weapons possession conviction can impact your immediate short-term and long-term future, so the sooner you speak with a criminal defense attorney about your case, the better chance you have at a favorable outcome.
If you or a loved one is facing a charge of possession of a weapon in the Jackson Metro Area or in any of the surrounding communities, contact the skilled and proven criminal defense team at Coxwell & Associates, PLLC at (601) 265-7766 for an immediate case consultation.