DUI Alcohol Intoxication
Alcohol intoxication is the primary contributor to most driving under the influence (DUI) charges in the U.S. While the use of drugs while driving can also land you in jail, alcohol intoxication is the number one cause for DUI arrests and convictions. Whether it was a case of buzzed driving or you were more than twice the legal limit, a DUI due to alcohol intoxication can land you in jail, facing heft fines and with a damaging blemish on your record. If you’re facing a DUI charge, you need to speak with a proven DUI lawyer as soon as you can for the best possible outcome of your case.Alcohol Intoxication
The State of Mississippi takes alcohol intoxication behind the wheel seriously, and treats convicted offenders severely. You might think it’s not a big deal if it’s your first or second misdemeanor offense and nobody was injured, but additional charges can quickly add up and nobody wants to be without a driver’s license for 3 months or longer. It’s important to note that your idea of alcohol intoxication and a law enforcement officer’s idea of alcohol intoxication might be different, and the push to arrest buzzed drivers has also landed a ton of people in jail over the past few years.The DUI Laws in Mississippi
For drivers ages 21 years and older, the legal limit is .08 percent Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). If you’re under the age of 21, the legal limit is .02 percent, and if you’re a commercial truck driver, the legal limit is .04 percent. Of course, the severity of charges and penalties you’re facing also have to do with whether or not this is your first, second or third offense. If convicted of your first DUI offense, you could face fines, temporary license suspension and up to 48 hours in jail. Your first two offenses are typically misdemeanor charges, with your third offense being a felony. Other charges can complicate the case, especially if somebody was injured. Since every case is different and circumstances vary from case to case, you need to speak with a lawyer about the charges you’re facing.What is .08 After All?
How much alcohol leads to intoxication? That’s the million-dollar (or thousand dollar question, depending upon the fines you’re facing) question. The truth is that everybody is different and everybody metabolizes alcohol at different rates. The old rule of thumb, one drink per hour isn’t always accurate. Different sized people, different genders and different sized drinks can all be variable factors when trying to determine whether or not you’re over the legal limit. The safest way to ensure you don’t get a DUI is to avoid driving at all if you’ve been drinking. One drink can be one drink too many in some cases, and law enforcement agencies are cracking down on buzzed driving, so the safest option is to get another ride home or call a cab. A $20 cab ride is much cheaper than a DUI.Buzzed Driving Versus Drunk Driving
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has been encouraging law enforcement agencies around the country to crack down on so-called buzzed driving. These drivers are typically right at, below or around the .08 percent BAC. This isn’t the typical DUI arrest that you think of when somebody is driving around slamming into other cars or jumping curbs. This is somebody, who for all intents and purposes, felt okay to get behind the wheel after a drink or two. Unfortunately, these cases can be complicated, so it’s absolutely critical to speak with a skilled criminal defense attorney after this type of arrest. Whether you were double the legal limit or below it, a DUI can be incredibly damaging to your future and your record, so the sooner you speak to a lawyer, the better.When to Contact a DUI Lawyer
After a DUI arrest due to alcohol intoxication, it’s a good idea to get into contact with a proven criminal defense lawyer. Even if it’s your first offense, and it was a case of buzzed driving, a lawyer can help to ensure the best possible outcome. Depending upon the circumstances of your individual case, whether or not it was your first, second or third offense and whether or not somebody was injured, you could be facing five years or longer in a correctional facility, if convicted.
If you or a loved one has been arrested and charged with DUI due to alcohol intoxication in the Jackson Metro Area, contact the experienced and proven team at Coxwell & Associates, PLLC at (877) 231-1600 for an immediate case consultation.