If you were hurt in an accident that occurred because of someone else’s negligence, you have the right to bring a personal injury claim for any damages you incurred. Although you have a lot to do in the wake of a serious injury, it is critical that you prioritize your claim because you only have a limited amount of time in which to file a lawsuit. This deadline is called the “statute of limitations.”
If you want to file an injury claim in Mississippi but you’re concerned about the logistics of gathering evidence, arranging expert testimony, and other essential tasks, turn to the accident attorneys at Coxwell & Associates. Our Jackson personal injury lawyers have recovered more than $300 million on behalf of the injured and their families. We take great pride in helping clients fight for the compensation they need to move on with life. Call (601) 265-7766 to schedule a free case evaluation.
Deadlines for Filing Personal Injury Lawsuits in Mississippi
Accident victims in Mississippi typically have three years from the date of the injury to file a lawsuit against the liable party; however, like most statutes, there are exceptions to this deadline. For example, if your case involves medical malpractice, you have just two years from the date on which the incident occurred or the date on which you should have discovered the incident to bring a suit.
The deadline for beginning the claims process against a government entity is even shorter. If you were hurt in a car accident, for example, and want to sue the local municipality that is responsible for maintaining the roads, you must provide written notice of the case to the chief executive officer of the appropriate governing body within one year, and you must then wait at least 90 days to file a formal claim.
When Should You Hire a Personal Injury Attorney?
Three years might seem like a considerable amount of time, but it is wise to hire a lawyer and begin the claims process as soon as possible. After all, the statute of limitations only applies to formal lawsuits.
That means you could run out of time to bring a suit if you file a claim 12 months after the accident and then spend 18 months gathering evidence, attending depositions, and negotiating for a settlement. Before you know it, 2.5 years have passed since you were hurt, and you only have a matter of months to bring a formal suit after failing to reach a satisfactory settlement with the opposing party.
Calling an attorney as soon as your health stabilizes will also provide your legal team with the opportunity to gather any evidence that may be time sensitive or—when dealing with especially devious parties—altered or destroyed.
Call (601) 265-7766 to Speak with a Personal Injury Attorney in Jackson
If you were hurt in a preventable accident, contact Coxwell & Associates to determine if you have grounds for a claim. We will conduct a thorough investigation into the circumstances surrounding the incident and help you pursue the maximum payout possible. Call (601) 265-7766 or click on the button below to schedule a free consultation with an accident lawyer in Jackson.
Disclaimer: This blog is intended for general information purposes only, and is not a substitute for legal advice. Anyone with a legal problem should consult a lawyer immediately.