Lost wages often account for a considerable portion of the financial award in personal injury cases. For many accident victims, proving such damages is relatively straightforward and may only require paystubs, income statements, and recent tax documents.
If you’re self-employed, though, and you don’t receive regular paychecks, you may not be able to prove lost wages using paystubs. However, that doesn’t mean you’re not entitled to compensation for the income you’ve lost due to your injuries.
As a self-employed individual, proving lost wages can be challenging. Your attorney may need to perform a few complicated calculations to arrive at a fair figure. Your lawyer may also have to gather some additional documentation to prove your calculations were reasonable, and perhaps bring in financial and vocational experts to provide testimony.
Documents that may help with these calculations include:
- Prior tax returns;
- 1099 forms;
- Active contracts;
- Completed contracts;
- Reputable reports regarding industry growth; and
- Financial statements.
What Other Kinds of Damages Might Be Recoverable?
In the state of Mississippi, personal injury claimants have the right to seek compensation for any economic and non-economic damages they incur. In addition to lost wages and benefits, the following types of damages can be included in the settlement negotiations:
- Past and future medical expenses;
- Loss of future earning capacity;
- Property damage;
- Child care and domestic help;
- Alternative transportation;
- Home and vehicle modifications;
- Home care;
- Other objectively verifiable losses;
- Scarring and disfigurement;
- Physical impairment;
- Emotional distress;
- Mental anguish;
- Pain and suffering;
- Injury to reputation;
- Loss of enjoyment in life; and
- Loss of companionship or consortium.
In addition to the compensatory damages mentioned above, some personal injury victims are entitled to a punitive award. A judge might order punitive damages if the defendant’s conduct demonstrated gross negligence, actual malice, or a wanton disregard for the health, safety, or rights of others.
How Long Do I Have to File a Personal Injury Lawsuit in Mississippi?
The statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits in Mississippi is typically three years. That means if you and the opposing party cannot reach a settlement, you have three years from the date on which you were hurt to file suit.
Since there are several exceptions to this deadline, though, it’s wise to seek legal counsel as soon as possible. For example, if your injuries were the result of intentional harm, you have just one year to file the lawsuit. This one-year deadline also applies to lawsuits against government entities; however, you must submit notice of your claim at least 90 days before filing suit against a government entity.
Call (601) 265-7766 to Speak with a Personal Injury Attorney in Jackson
If you’re recovering from serious injuries and you want to pursue compensation for lost income and other damages, contact Coxwell & Associates. We have won nearly $300 million for our clients in successful settlement and verdicts. Call (601) 265-7766 or fill out our Contact Form to schedule a free case evaluation with a personal injury lawyer in Jackson.
Disclaimer: This blog is intended as general information purposes only, and is not a substitute for legal advice. Anyone with a legal problem should consult a lawyer immediately.